Jul. 23, 2019

Newly appointed task force will examine issues holding PA back
HARRISBURG – Building upon the significant improvements Pennsylvania taxpayers have made possible across the state’s transportation infrastructure, a newly appointed House Republican task force will examine the next steps required to ensure Pennsylvania can compete on a global scale. In recent years Pennsylvania has made major improvements in aging bridges and roadways. The task force will work to determine the next phases of infrastructure improvements needed to accommodate the demands of expanding industries and a growing economy without putting any additional burdens on taxpayers.

“As employers and companies thriving in our economy look to expand, Pennsylvania is still missing out,” House Majority Leader Bryan Cutler (R-Lancaster) said. “Our infrastructure must exceed the needs of employers if we hope to attract the next generation of business leaders to Pennsylvania.”

The task force will be chaired by Rep. Martina White (R-Philadelphia), who serves on the House Transportation Committee and as chair of the Subcommittee on Public Transportation. She has firsthand experience with the challenges facing urban and suburban infrastructure.

“Pennsylvania has a highly skilled workforce and is geographically located within a day’s driving distance to a significant portion of the country’s population,” White said. “We need to have the infrastructure to maximize our potential and keep pace with an ever-growing, competitive global economy.”

Along with traditional transportation needs, the task force will take a closer look at how state funds can better serve economic growth, security and state police needs.

The task force is made up of members from varied backgrounds and diverse parts of Pennsylvania. Those appointed are Reps. Lynda Schlegel-Culver (R-Northumberland/Snyder), Sheryl Delozier (R-Cumberland), Torren Ecker (R-Adams/Cumberland), Jonathan Fritz (R-Susquehanna/Wayne), Matt Gabler (R-Clearfield/Elk), John Lawrence (R-Chester/Lancaster), Lori Mizgorski (R-Allegheny), Jesse Topper (R- Bedford/Franklin/Fulton) and Ryan Warner (R-Fayette/Westmoreland).

Cutler, Transportation Committee Chairman Tim Hennessey (R-Chester/Montgomery), Appropriations Chairman Stan Saylor (R-York) and Caucus Secretary Marcy Toepel (R-Montgomery) will serve in ex-officio roles.

Representative Bryan Cutler
100th Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Mike Straub